跨机构督导小组公布与CDP在数据和可持续发展报告等领域的合作

news-image

绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组(督导小组)今日(12月20日)公布与CDP的合作,以共同丰富香港的气候数据资源,加强可持续发展报告。CDP是运营全球公司环境信息披露系统的国际非营利组织。

督导小组和CDP将共同努力:

  • 加强气候和环境信息披露,充实香港的数据资源及提升数据的可用性;
  • 支持技能培训及提升技能,促进本地公司根据现行的和将会公布的全球标准和最佳实践,披露高质量的气候和其他环境相关数据;以及
  • 促进数据流动,为金融机构提供更好的数据资源以评估气候和环境相关风险,并支持实体行业迈向碳中和。

作为是次合作的一部分,督导小组和CDP制定了一份针对非上市公司/中小企业的气候和环境风险问卷(中小企业问卷))。这是首份专为从未作出相关报告的香港企业,特别是中小企业量身编制的跨行业问卷样本。问卷样本按精细程度提供三个版本(附件1至3,只备英文版本),以供不同规模和报备能力的公司选择。问卷样本易于使用,旨在协助企业进行可持续发展报告,提升它们的可持续发展形象,吸引贷款方、投资者和供应链客户的关注,以便更容易获得可持续发展融资。该问卷样本亦可协助金融机构收集及分析公司层面的数据,用于风险评估和相关业务决策。

为鼓励香港企业采用问卷样本,督导小组与CDP准备了详细的指引和学习材料,并将在2023年第一季开始举行针对性技能培训活动。督导小组亦会与金融机构和行业机构合作发放问卷,协助收集数据,并鼓励企业多采用问卷。督导小组正开发一个数据平台,以收集并便利金融机构在获授权下取得相关的公司数据。

督导小组联席主席兼香港金融管理局总裁余伟文表示:「数据是促进金融机构和企业采纳可持续金融的关键要素。透过与CDP的合作,我们正在迈出重要的一步,扩大我们的数据工作复盖范围,将中小企业纳入其中,这是我们经济中一个重要且以前难以触及的部分。我们期待与CDP一起,推广这个问卷在业界的使用,并进一步强化香港的可持续金融生态。」

督导小组联席主席兼证券及期货事务监察委员会署理行政总裁梁凤仪表示:「全球各地的企业正加紧制定气候目标,并积极筹谋脱碳的策略路径。此次与CDP的合作将提升行业价值链相关数据的可用性、可比性和可靠性。这不仅有助企业了解自身的气候足迹和规划未来路向,也能够大力推动全球减排进程。」

CDP亚太区董事总经理陈佳远表示:「中小企业在全球经济中占很大比重,它们的活动对于实现净零排放至关重要。因此,中小企业必须配备所需的工具和资源,不仅要致力于推动环保行动,还要确保自身业务可长期运作。作为全球唯一独立的环境信息披露系统,CDP致力于支持中小企业在这方面的工作。我们很高兴在这个关键项目上与督导小组合作,以推动香港推行更多更好的信息披露和行动,并为所有实体经济参与者提高数据质量。」

注:中小企业问卷与气候相关财务披露工作小组(TCFD)的框架一致。它是在绿色和可持续金融中心(成员名单)的数据工作小组的支持下制订。中小企业问卷分为三个版本,以配合不同规模和需要的公司。督导小组将继续根据全球标准在CDP的协助下定期审视和更新问卷问题。

附件1 – 微型企业问卷(只备英文版本)

附件2 – 小型企业问卷(只备英文版本)

附件3 – 中型企业问卷(只备英文版本)


来源:香港金融管理局

联系我们

地址
香港湾仔港湾道26号华润大厦廈2302-3
电⼦邮件
info@hkgreenfinance.org
电话
(+852) 3469 0859

Cross-Agency Steering Group announces collaboration with CDP to enhance data availability and sustainability reporting in Hong Kong

news-image

The Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group (Steering Group) on 20 December announced that it has entered into a collaboration arrangement with CDP, an international non-profit organisation that runs the global environmental disclosure system for companies, to jointly enhance climate data availability and sustainability reporting in Hong Kong

The Steering Group and CDP will work together to:

  • enhance climate and environmental disclosure, improve data availability and accessibility in Hong Kong;
  • support capacity building and upskilling, to facilitate local companies in disclosing high-quality climate and other environmental-related data in line with existing and upcoming global standards and best practice; and
  • facilitate data flow, to provide financial institutions with better data resources to assess climate and environmental related risks, and supporting the real sector in the transition towards carbon neutrality.

As part of this collaboration, the Steering Group and CDP have developed a Climate and Environmental Risk Questionnaire for Non-listed companies/small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) (SME Questionnaire) (Note).  This is a first cross-sector reporting template designed for first-time reporting corporates in Hong Kong, especially SMEs.  The template comes in three versions (Annexes 1 to 3) with different level of granularity, to cater for variation in the reporting corporates’ size and sophistication.  The easy-to-use template is intended to aid corporates’ sustainability reporting processes and raise their sustainability visibility to lenders, investors and supply chain clients so to better access sustainability financing.  It will also facilitate financial institutions’ collection and assessment of company-level data for risk assessment and relevant business decisions.

To encourage take up, the Steering Group and CDP have developed comprehensive guidance and learning materials for the use of the template, and will arrange targeted capacity building sessions starting in Q1 2023.  The Steering Group will also work with the financial institutions and industry bodies to deploy the questionnaire, facilitate data collection and encourage corporates’ adoption of the questionnaire.  It is developing a data portal to collect and allow financial institutions to access relevant corporate data, subject to consent.

Eddie Yue, Co-Chair of the Steering Group and the Chief Executive, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority said, “Data is a critical factor in promoting the adoption of sustainable finance by financial institutions and corporates.  With the launch of this collaboration with CDP, we are taking in important step in broadening our data effort to include SMEs, an important and previously hard-to-reach segment of our economy.  We look forward to working with CDP to encourage the use of this template and further enhance Hong Kong’s sustainable finance ecosystem.”

Julia Leung, Co-Chair of the Steering Group and Acting Chief Executive Officer, the Securities and Futures Commission said, “Companies worldwide are increasingly setting climate goals and actively considering their respective decarbonisation pathways.  This collaboration with CDP will enhance the availability and accessibility of comparable and reliable value chain data, which will not only benefit companies that are seeking to understand their current climate footprints and chart the way forward, but also contribute positively to the global emissions reduction agenda.”

Donald Chan, Managing Director for APAC, CDP said, “SMEs make up a significant proportion of the global economy and their activity will be essential to the net-zero transition. So, it is crucial that SMEs are equipped with the tools and resources needed to not only commit to and accelerate environmental action, but to ensure their own long-term business viability. As the world’s only independent global environmental disclosure system, CDP is committed to supporting SMEs to do so. We are delighted to partner with Steering Group on this pivotal project to drive more, and better, disclosure and action in Hong Kong and improve data quality for all real economy actors.”

Note: The SME Questionnaire is aligned with the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) framework.  It was developed with the support of the Data Working Group under the Centre for Green and Sustainable Finance (member list). There are three versions of SME Questionnaire developed to cater for different size and need of companies.  The Steering Group will continue to review and update the questions periodically with CDP’s assist, in line with global standards.

Annex 1 – Questionnaire for Micro Enterprises

Annex 2 – Questionnaire for Small Enterprises

Annex 3 – Questionnaire for Medium Enterprises

 

Source: Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Contact Us

HKGFA Address
Suite 2405,
9 Queen's Road Central,
Hong Kong
HKGFA Email
info@hkgreenfinance.org
HKGFA Phone
(+852) 3579 4391