跨机构督导小组宣布推进香港绿色和可持续金融策略的下一步行动

event-image

绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组(注1)(督导小组)今日(7月15日)宣布下一阶段工作重点,以推进其巩固香港在绿色和可持续金融方面的领先地位的策略计划以及协助金融生态系统迈向碳中和。督导小组的工作重点是气候相关披露和可持续汇报、碳市场机遇以及新成立的绿色和可持续金融中心(中心)。

气候相关披露和可持续汇报

在推动各界于2025年或之前按照气候相关财务披露工作小组的框架作出气候变化汇报的进程方面,督导小组支持国际财务报告准则基金会(注2)辖下的国际可持续发展准则理事会,在气候相关财务披露工作小组框架的基础上拟订新标准。证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)和香港交易及结算所有限公司(香港交易所)将与财务汇报局及香港会计师公会合作制订蓝图,评估新标准及研究可行的实施方案。

碳市场机

中国内地和主要海外市场致力于迈向绿色、低碳和气候适应型经济,预期全球碳市场将迎来显著增长。香港作为国际金融中心,具有独特的地位,可以发挥通往内地门户的战略性角色,融通资本支持国家实现碳中和目标。

为了把握这个机遇,督导小组已成立由证监会与香港交易所担任联席主席的碳市场专责团队,评估将发展香港成为区域碳交易中心的可行性,研究深化粤港澳大湾区合作。该专责团队将积极探索国内外的「限额与交易」碳市场及自愿性碳市场所带来的机遇。

绿色和可持续金融中心

督导小组今日宣布成立绿色和可持续金融中心,以协助金融业管理气候变化带来的风险并把握相关机遇。该中心是一个跨界别平台,负责统筹金融监管机构、相关政府部门、业界持份者及学术机构在培训、研究和政策制订方面的工作,同时亦将会建立一个资源、数据及分析工具的知识库,支持业界向更可持续的发展模式转型。

督导小组认为人才和数据属于应获优先关注的范畴。为此,该中心已成立工作小组(注3)负责制订策略及蓝图,以促进人才及技能培训,建立数据储存库及提升数据分析能力。工作小组在制订建议时,将征询其他持份者的意见。如欲了解更多资讯及与中心联络,请按此

督导小组将继续推进其于 2020 年 12 月策略计划中宣布的其他行动纲领,包括参与国际可持续金融平台在绿色分类目录方面的工作,及促进以气候为重点的情境分析。

督导小组联席主席、证监会行政总裁欧达礼(Ashley Alder)表示:

「香港作为国际金融中心,在发展可持续金融以应对因气候变化而带来的风险方面,于区内以至全球都担当着重要角色。香港可透过采纳首套全球的可持续性标准,从而在气候汇报方面发挥牵头作用,确保投资者能够掌握一致、可比较和可靠的资料,让他们了解其投资组合所面对的气候风险,以及他们在为碳排放提供融资的程度。」

督导小组联席主席、香港金融管理局(金管局)总裁余伟文表示:

「缺乏全球统一的标准,以及人才技能和数据的限制,是香港乃至全球绿色和可持续金融发展的重大阻碍。督导小组一直致力协调香港和区内各界共同应对这些挑战,并会继续探索包括资本市场和碳市场等领域的发展潜力,把握绿色转型带来庞大的机遇。随着中心的成立,我们希望提供一个中央平台,让政策制定者、金融专业人士、学者和其他持份者能更深入地交流和合作。」

绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组

2021年7月15日

备注:

  1. 督导小组在2020年5月成立,由金管局和证监会共同领导,成员包括环境局、财经事务及库务局、香港交易所、保险业监管局及强制性公积金计划管理局。督导小组在2020年12月发表其长期策略计划与行动纲领,旨在协调金融业的气候和环境风险管理,加快香港绿色和可持续金融的发展,并支持政府的气候策略。
  2. 国际财务准则基金会是一家非牟利的公众利益机构,成立目的是制订全球认可的会计准则──《国际财务报告准则》,以及推广和促进业界采纳有关准则。国际可持续发展准则理事会计划将于 2021 年 11 月在格拉斯哥举行的 COP26 联合国气候变化会议之前成立。
  3. 有关工作小组的成员名单请参阅附件。

附件:
绿色和可持续金融中心工作小组成员

技能培训工作小组:

  • 瑞银(联席主席)
  • 香港科技大学(联席主席)
  • 东方汇理资产管理香港有限公司
  • 法国东方汇理银行
  • 香港数码港管理有限公司
  • 香港绿色金融协会
  • 汇丰人寿保险(国际)有限公司
  • 泰加保险有限公司
  • 香港中文大学
  • 香港保险业联会
  • 香港总商会
  • 香港大学

数据工作小组:

  • 花旗集团(联席主席)
  • 香港保险业联会(联席主席)
  • 北京绿色金融与可持续发展研究院
  • 贝莱德
  • 彭博
  • 恒安标准人寿(亚洲) 有限公司
  • 香港数码港管理有限公司
  • 香港绿色金融协会
  • 工银亚洲
  • 昆士兰保险(香港)有限公司
  • 香港总商会
  • 香港科技大学
  • 香港大学

新闻稿来源:证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)

了解更多信息

聯系我們

Cross-Agency Steering Group announces next steps to advance Hong Kong’s green and sustainable finance strategy

event-image

The Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group (Note 1) (Steering Group) today (15 July) announced the next steps to advance its collaborative strategy to bolster Hong Kong’s position as a leader in green and sustainable finance and help transition the financial ecosystem towards carbon neutrality. As priorities, the Steering Group will focus on climate-related disclosures and sustainability reporting, carbon market opportunities and the launch of the new Centre for Green and Sustainable Finance (Centre).

Climate-related disclosures and sustainability reporting

Making progress towards mandating climate-related disclosures aligned with the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) framework by 2025 across relevant sectors, the Steering Group supports the efforts by the International Sustainability Standards Board under the International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation (Note 2) (IFRS Foundation) to develop a new standard which would be built on the TCFD framework. The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) and the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX) will collaborate with the Financial Reporting Council and the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants to work on a roadmap to evaluate and potentially adopt the new standard.

Carbon market opportunities

Mainland China and key overseas markets are dedicated to transitioning to a green, low-emission and climate-resilient economy and the global carbon market is expected to grow significantly. As an international financial centre, Hong Kong is in a unique position to play a strategic role as China’s gateway and mobiliser of capital to facilitate the national carbon neutrality goal.

The Steering Group is seeking to capitalise on this opportunity and has set up a Carbon Market Work Stream (CMWS) co-chaired by the SFC and HKEX to assess the feasibility of developing Hong Kong as a regional carbon trading centre to strengthen collaboration in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area. The CMWS will actively explore opportunities presented by both the cap-and-trade carbon market and the voluntary carbon market in China and overseas.

Centre for Green and Sustainable Finance

The Steering Group today launched the Centre for Green and Sustainable Finance to help the financial industry manage the risks and capture the opportunities presented by climate change. The Centre is a cross-sector platform which coordinates the efforts of financial regulators, Government agencies, industry stakeholders and academia in capacity building, thought leadership and policy development. It will also serve as a repository for resources, data and analytics which support the transition to a more sustainable development pathway.

The Steering Group has identified talent and data as the priority areas of action. Accordingly the Centre has established working groups (Note 3) to develop strategies and roadmaps to promote capacity building and develop data repository and analytics capability. The working groups will consult other stakeholders when formulating their recommendations. For more information and to engage with the Centre, please visit here.

The Steering Group will continue to take forward the other action points announced in its December 2020 strategic plan, including participating in the work of the International Platform on Sustainable Finance on taxonomy and promoting climate-focused scenario analysis.

Ashley Alder, Co-Chair of the Steering Group, Chief Executive Officer, SFC said:

“As an international financial centre, Hong Kong has a significant role to play both regionally and globally in the development of sustainable finance to address the risks posed by climate change. Hong Kong can lead the way in climate reporting by adopting the first set of global sustainability standards to ensure that consistent, comparable and reliable information is available to help investors understand the extent to which their portfolios are exposed to climate risks and they are financing emissions.”

Eddie Yue, Co-Chair of the Steering Group, Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) said:

“The lack of globally aligned standards, as well as capacity and data constraints, are hindering the growth of green and sustainable finance, not just in Hong Kong but also globally. The Steering Group has been coordinating the efforts across stakeholders in Hong Kong and the region in meeting these challenges, while exploring ways to capitalise on the enormous opportunities resulting from the transition to a greener world, such as in the capital and carbon markets. With the launch of the Centre, we hope to create a focal point to bring together policy makers, financial market professionals, the academia and other stakeholders for deeper exchange and collaboration.”

Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group

15 July 2021

End

Notes:

  1. Established in May 2020, the Steering Group is co-chaired by the HKMA and the SFC. Members include the Environment Bureau, Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau, the HKEX, the Insurance Authority and the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority. In December 2020, the Steering Group published its long-term strategic plan with action points which aim to coordinate the management of climate and environmental risks to the financial sector, accelerate the growth of green and sustainable finance in Hong Kong and support the Government’s climate strategies.
  2. The IFRS Foundation is a not-for-profit, public interest organisation established to develop globally accepted accounting standards––the International Financial Reporting Standards––and promote and facilitate their adoption. The International Sustainability Standards Board is due to be established ahead of the COP26 UN climate change conference in Glasgow in November 2021.
  3. Please refer to the Annex for the list of working group members.

Annex:
Centre for Green and Sustainable Finance Working Groups

Capacity Building Working Group:

  • UBS (Co-chair)
  • The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Co-chair)
  • Amundi Hong Kong Limited
  • Crédit Agricole Corporate and Investment Bank
  • Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited
  • Hong Kong Green Finance Association
  • HSBC Life (International) Limited
  • Target Insurance Company Limited
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • The Hong Kong Federation of Insurers
  • The Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce
  • The University of Hong Kong

Data Working Group:

  • Citi (Co-chair)
  • The Hong Kong Federation of Insurers (Co-chair)
  • Beijing Institute of Finance and Sustainability
  • BlackRock
  • Bloomberg
  • Heng An Standard Life (Asia) Limited
  • Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited
  • Hong Kong Green Finance Association
  • ICBC Asia
  • QBE General Insurance (Hong Kong) Limited
  • The Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce
  • The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • The University of Hong Kong

Source: The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC)

For More Information

Contact Us