跨机构督导小组公布最新工作进展及进一步推动香港绿色和可持续金融发展的工作方向

event-image

绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组(督导小组)今天(12月16日)公布最新工作进展及接下来的工作方向,以提升香港在绿色及可持续金融方面的领先地位,协助金融体系迈向碳中和。

绿色和可持续金融中心 (中心)
中心下设立的两个工作小组检视了金融服务业在技能和数据方面所面对的挑战,并对于技能培训和绿色和可持续金融数据两方面提出以下各项建议:

技能培训:

  • 制定一套通用的绿色和可持续金融资历架构;
  • 支持从业员和青年参加绿色和可持续金融培训;以及
  • 为青年提供绿色和可持续金融相关的行业实践机会。

绿色和可持续金融数据:

  • 改善绿色和可持续金融数据和分析工具的公开率和可用率;以及
  • 填补业界失缺的重要数据。

为落实工作小组的建议,香港金融管理局(金管局)将着手制定银行专业资历架构下的绿色和可持续金融新单元。中心亦将推出绿色和可持续金融相关的数据和资源信息平台。进一步详情将适时公布。

绿色分类目录、气候相关披露及可持续汇报
在国际可持续金融平台发表共通绿色分类目录(Common Ground Taxonomy,简称CGT)报告1后,督导小组将以衔接CGT为目标,探讨建立绿色分类框架供本地市场采用,以便利CGT、中国及欧盟绿色分类法之间的相互应用。有关工作将循互换性、可比性和兼容性的原则进行,并会考虑其他绿色和转型活动的定义,以及本地因素。督导小组将与相关行业从业员、专家和持份者合作,以具体运用CGT。

此外,督导小组正推动相关行业于2025年或之前按照气候相关财务披露工作小组(TCFD)的框架作出气候变化披露。证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)和香港交易及结算所有限公司将继续与相关持份者合作,以评估并适当采用国际财务报告准则基金会2拟基于TCFD制定的可持续发展披露标准。

碳市场机遇
督导小组已对香港的碳市场机遇进行初步评估。由于香港是国际标准的拥护者,环球资金进出内地的促进者,以及国际金融和风险管理中心,督导小组将进一步探讨香港如何发展成为区域碳交易中心,包括打造香港成为全球优质自愿性碳市场。在粤港澳大湾区合作方面,督导小组会与有关当局合作推动碳市场发展机遇。

督导小组联席主席、金管局总裁余伟文表示:
「COP26再次提醒我们人类应对气候变化所面临的挑战。金融业在引导资金支持转型的过程中发挥着关键作用。透过我们在技能培训、数据和绿色分类目录等方面的工作,督导小组力求确保金融机构和市场从业者具备相关的技能和信息,在国际公认的框架下管理气候风险、把握机遇。」

督导小组联席主席、证监会行政总裁欧达礼(Ashley Alder)表示:
「碳交易将会是动员资金迈向低碳经济转型的关键工具。香港拥有世界一流的监管标准,并在连接国际与内地市场的资本流动方面发挥重要作用,具备优越条件为全球发展和扩大碳市场作出重大贡献。」

备注:

  1. CGT 报告详细比较中国和欧盟分类法,并提出两者的共通之处。
  2. 国际财务报告准则基金会是一家非牟利的公众利益机构,成立目的是制订全球认可的会计准则──《国际财务报告准则》,以及推广和促进业界采纳有关准则。

************************************************
关于绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组
督导小组在2020年5月成立,由香港金融管理局和证券及期货事务监察委员会共同领导,成员包括环境局、财经事务及库务局、香港交易及结算所有限公司、保险业监管局及强制性公积金计划管理局。督导小组旨在协调金融业针对气候和环境风险的措施应对,加快香港绿色和可持续金融的发展,并支持政府的气候策略。

来源:香港金融管理局

了解更多信息

联系我们

Cross-Agency Steering Group announces progress and way forward to advance Hong Kong’s green and sustainable finance development

event-image

The Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group (Steering Group) announced on 16 December 2021 the progress made and the way forward to advance Hong Kong’s position as a leader in green and sustainable finance (GSF) and help the financial ecosystem’s transition towards carbon neutrality.

Centre for Green and Sustainable Finance (GSF Centre)
The two working groups established under the GSF Centre reviewed the capacity and data constraints faced by the financial services sector. The working groups recommended the following measures in respect of capacity building and GSF data:

Capacity building:

  • develop a common GSF qualification framework;
  • support practitioners and young people to take up GSF training; and
  • provide young people with practical industry experience.

GSF data:

  • enhance access to and availability of GSF data and data analytics tools; and
  • fill the key data gaps identified by market participants.

To take forward the working groups’ recommendations, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) will begin work to develop a new module on Green and Sustainable Finance under the Enhanced Competency Framework for Banking Practitioners. The GSF Centre will also launch information portals on GSF data and resources. More details will be announced in due course.

Taxonomies, climate-related disclosures and sustainability reporting
Following the publication of the Common Ground Taxonomy (CGT) report by the International Platform on Sustainable Finance (Note 1), the Steering Group will, with the aim of aligning with the CGT, explore developing a green classification framework for adoption in the local market which facilitates easy navigation among the CGT, China and the EU’s taxonomies. The work will be guided by the principles of interoperability, comparability and inclusiveness, taking into account other definitions of green, transitional activities, and local considerations. The Steering Group will work with industry practitioners, experts and stakeholders to operationalise the CGT.

In addition, the Steering Group is making progress towards mandating climate-related disclosures aligned with the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) framework by 2025 across relevant sectors. The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) and Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited continue to collaborate with stakeholders with a view to evaluating and potentially adopting the IFRS Foundation’s (Note 2) Sustainability Disclosure Standards which would be built on the TCFD framework.

Carbon market opportunities
The Steering Group has completed a preliminary assessment of carbon market opportunities for Hong Kong. In view of Hong Kong’s status as a champion of international standards, a facilitator to channel global capital into the Mainland and an international financial and risk management centre, the Steering Group will further explore how Hong Kong may develop into a regional carbon trading centre, including the development of a global high-quality voluntary carbon market. As part of this effort, it will work with relevant authorities on carbon market opportunities as part of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area cooperation.

Eddie Yue, Co-Chair of the Steering Group, Chief Executive, HKMA said:
“COP26 has once again reminded us of the challenges that mankind faces in addressing climate change. The financial sector plays a critical role here, in securing the capital needed for the transition. With our work on capacity building, data and taxonomy in particular, the Steering Group seeks to ensure that financial institutions and market practitioners have the relevant skills and information, as well as an internationally recognised framework, to manage climate risk and capture the resulting opportunities.”

Ashley Alder, Co-Chair of the Steering Group, Chief Executive Officer, SFC said:
“Carbon trading will be a key tool to mobilise finance for the transition to a low carbon economy. With Hong Kong’s world-class regulatory standards and its instrumental role in bridging international capital flows with Mainland markets, it is well placed to make a significant contribution to the global effort to develop and scale carbon markets.”

End

Notes:

  1. The CGT is a report resulting from an in-depth comparison exercise that puts forward areas of commonality between China and the EU’s taxonomies.
  2. The IFRS Foundation is a not-for-profit, public interest organisation established to develop globally accepted accounting standards––the International Financial Reporting Standards––and promote and facilitate their adoption.

************************************************
About the Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group
Established in May 2020, the Steering Group is co-chaired by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority and the Securities and Futures Commission. Members include the Environment Bureau, Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, Insurance Authority and the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority. The Steering Group aims to coordinate the management of climate and environmental risks to the financial sector, accelerate the growth of green and sustainable finance in Hong Kong and support the Government’s climate strategies.

Source: Hong Kong Monetary Authority

For More Information

Contact Us