联交所刊发有关优化环境、社会及管治框架下的气候信息披露谘询文件

news-image

香港交易及结算所有限公司(香港交易所)全资附属公司香港联合交易所有限公司(联交所)于2023年4月14日(星期五)刊发谘询文件,就建议优化环境、社会及管治(ESG)框架下的气候信息披露征询市场意见。

联交所建议规定所有发行人在其ESG报告中披露气候相关信息,以及推出符合国际可持续发展准则理事会(ISSB)气候准则1的新气候相关信息披露要求。ISSB气候准则建基于TCFD建议2的原则,详细列出气候披露要求。香港绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组3表示计划在2025年或之前强制实施须符合TCFD的披露规定,联交所这次谘询的建议正是迈向有关目标的一个重要里程碑。考虑到发行人的准备情况及相关疑虑,联交所拟就若干披露(例如气候相关风险与机遇的财务影响、范围3排放以及若干跨行业指标)实施过渡性规定4,适用于生效日期(2024年1月1日)后首两个汇报年度。

香港交易所上市主管伍洁镟表示:「香港交易所致力推动变革,在旗下业务、营运及市场中促进可持续发展。气候变化是全球关注的焦点,投资者都希望有更多的信息,以了解气候问题和相关政策变化如何影响到发行人的资产、业务运作及财务状况。我们的建议旨在帮助发行人建立抵御力、促进其可持续发展,从而巩固香港作为备受信赖和具吸引力的集资市场地位。」

新的气候相关披露要求概述如下:

管治

  • 披露发行人监察及管理气候相关风险及机遇的管治流程、监控及程序;

策略

  • 气候相关风险与机遇:披露发行人面临的重大气候相关风险及(如适用)机遇,以及这些风险及机遇对发行人的业务营运、商业模式及策略的影响;
  • 过渡计划:披露发行人如何应对其识别出来的气候相关风险及机遇,包括对其商业模式和策略作出的调整、适应及减缓措施,以及为此类计划设定的气候相关目标;
  • 气候抵御力:披露发行人策略(包括其商业模式)及营运在面对气候相关变化、发展或不确定因素时的抵御能力,并须使用切合发行人自身情况的气候相关情境分析方法进行评估;
  • 气候相关风险及机遇的财务影响:披露气候相关风险及(如适用)机遇对发行人的财务状况、财务表现及现金流量的当前影响(定量,如属重大)和预期影响(定性);

风险管理

  • 披露发行人用于识别、评估及管理气候相关风险及(如适用)机遇的流程;

指标及目标

  • 温室气体排放:披露范围1、范围2及范围3排放。
  • 跨行业指标:披露(i)易受过渡/实体风险影响或(ii) 涉及气候相关机遇的资产或业务活动的数额和百分比以及用于应对气候相关风险及机遇的资本开支金额;
  • 内部碳价格:设有内部碳价格的发行人须披露其内部碳价格以及其如何应用于发行人的决策;及
  • 薪酬:披露如何将气候相关考虑因素纳入薪酬政策。

有意回应的人士请于2023年7月14日或之前于香港交易所网站填写并交回问卷。

 

注:

  1. IFRS的国际可持续发展准则理事会(ISSB)于2022年3月刊发的国际财务报告可持续披露准则第2号——气候相关披露的征求意见稿(经ISSB的相关审议补充或修订)载列了识别、计量及披露气候相关财务信息的具体要求。ISSB 表示有意在2023年第二季结束前发布最终准则。
  2. 气候相关财务披露小组建议。
  3. 于2020年12月,香港绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组发布巩固香港金融生态系统的五个主要行动纲领。见新闻稿
  4. 尚未按要求作出披露的发行人可以提供定性披露,亦应披露有助读者了解相关事项的资料及其完全遵守有关规定的工作计划、进度及时间表。

转发自:香港交易及结算所

联系我们

HKGFA 地址
香港中环皇后大道中9号2405室
HKGFA 电子邮件
info@hkgreenfinance.org
HKGFA 电话
(+852) 3579 4391

Exchange Publishes Consultation Paper on Enhancement of Climate Disclosure under its ESG Framework

news-image

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the Exchange), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX), on 14th April (Friday) published a consultation paper seeking market feedback on proposals to enhance climate-related disclosures under the environmental, social and governance (ESG) framework.

The Exchange proposes to mandate all issuers to make climate-related disclosures in their ESG reports, and introduce new climate-related disclosures aligned with the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) Climate Standard1. The ISSB Climate Standard builds on the principles of the TCFD recommendations2, and sets out detailed climate disclosures. The proposals mark a significant milestone in achieving the commitment to mandate TCFD-aligned disclosures by 2025 as announced by the Hong Kong Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group3. Acknowledging the readiness of the issuers and their concerns, the Exchange proposes interim provisions4 for certain disclosures (eg financial effects of climate-related risks and opportunities, scope 3 emissions and certain cross-industry metrics) for the first two reporting years following the effective date of 1 January 2024.

“At HKEX, we see ourselves as a change agent promoting sustainability across our business, operations, and markets. With climate change being a global concern and focus, investors are demanding more information on how climate issues and related policy change could impact an issuer’s assets, business operations and financials. Our proposals aim to accelerate the building of resiliency and the sustainability journey of our issuers, further strengthening Hong Kong’s position as a trusted and attractive venue for capital raising,” said HKEX’s Head of Listing Katherine Ng.

A summary of the new climate-related disclosure requirements are as follows:

Governance

  • Disclose the issuer’s governance process, controls and procedures used to monitor and manage climate-related risks and opportunities;

Strategy

  • Climate-related risks and opportunities: Disclose material climate-related risks and, where applicable, opportunities faced by the issuer, and their impact on the issuer’s business operations, business model and strategy;
  • Transition plans: Disclose issuer’s response to climate-related risks and opportunities identified, including any changes to its business model and strategy, adaptation and mitigation efforts, and climate-related targets set for such plans;
  • Climate resilience: Disclose resilience of the issuer’s strategy (including its business model) and operations to climate-related changes, developments or uncertainties, which shall be assessed using a method of climate-related scenario analysis that is commensurate with the issuer’s circumstances;
  • Financial effects of climate-related risks and opportunities: Disclose current (quantitative where material) and anticipated (qualitative) financial effects of climate-related risks, and where applicable, opportunities on the issuer’s financial position, financial performance and cash flows;

Risk management

  • Disclose the issuer’s process to identify, assess and manage climate-related risks and, where applicable, opportunities;

Metrics and target

  • Greenhouse gas emissions: Disclose scope 1, scope 2 and scope 3 emissions;
  • Cross-industry metrics: Disclose the amount and percentage of assets or business activities (i) vulnerable to transition/physical risks or (ii) aligned with climate-related opportunities, and the amount of capital expenditure deployed towards climate-related risks and opportunities;
  • Internal carbon price: For issuers who maintain an internal carbon price, disclose the internal carbon price and such that was applied in the issuer’s decision-making; and
  • Remuneration: Disclose how climate-related considerations are factored into executive remuneration policy.

Interested parties are encouraged to respond to the consultation paper by submitting a questionnaire on the HKEX website by 14 July 2023.

Notes:

  1. The IFRS S2 Climate-related Disclosures Exposure Draft published by the IFRS’s International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) in March 2022, as supplemented or modified by deliberations of the ISSB, sets out the specific requirements for the identification, measurement and disclosure of climate-related financial information. The ISSB has indicated its intention to publish the final standards by the end of the second quarter of 2023.
  2. The recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures.
  3. In December 2020, the Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group announced five key action points to strengthen Hong Kong’s financial ecosystem. See press release.
  4. Issuers that have yet to make the required disclosure will be allowed to provide qualitative disclosures, and should disclose information that enable readers to understand the relevant item together with the work plan, progress and timetable for full compliance.

 

Reposted from: Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

Contact Us

HKGFA Address
Suite 2405,
9 Queen's Road Central,
Hong Kong
HKGFA Email
info@hkgreenfinance.org
HKGFA Phone
(+852) 3579 4391