易綱行長出席中國人民銀行與國際貨幣基金組織聯合召開的“綠色金融和氣候政策”高級別研討會並致辭

event-image

2021年4月15日,中國人民銀行與國際貨幣基金組織聯合召開“綠色金融和氣候政策”高級別研討會,人民銀行行長易綱出席開幕式並致辭。

開幕致辭全文如下:

總裁女士,女士們,先生們,

上午好,晚上好!非常高興與基金組織聯合舉辦此次“綠色金融與氣候政策”高級別研討會。首先,請允許我代表人民銀行,向出席研討會的各位嘉賓表示熱烈歡迎!

國際社會在應對氣候變化上正在形成廣泛共識。中國已宣布2030年前碳達峰、2060年前碳中和的戰略目標,也被稱作“30/60”目標。這要求經濟全面、系統性轉型。在此過程中,綠色金融可發揮“加速器”的作用。

人民銀行高度重視發展綠色金融。 2016年,人民銀行牽頭制定了構建綠色金融體系的《指導意見》,並製定了時間表和路線圖,推動具體政策逐步落地,綠色金融政策體系初步建立。在此基礎上,中國綠色金融市場快速發展。 2020年末,中國綠色貸款餘額約1.8萬億美元,綠色債券存量約1250億美元,規模分別居世界第一和世界第二。近期,市場主體已發行40多只碳中和債,規模超過100億美元。

碳達峰、碳中和目標對金融部門提出了新的更高要求,我們需要應對好一系列挑戰。

第一,在社會層面,綠色減排意識亟待提升。

第二,在市場層面,要充分發揮碳市場的定價作用。只有對碳排放合理定價,才能引導資源合理配置。目前,我國全國性碳排放交易市場剛剛起步,需要進一步發揮碳市場的金融屬性。

第三,在機構層面,氣候信息披露需要進一步完善。披露主體的範圍要擴大,覆蓋上市公司、金融機構等各類主體,披露方式要逐步從自願披露向強制披露轉變。

第四,在風險管理層面,需要密切關注化石燃料相關的轉型風險。中國能源消費結構中,八成是化石燃料,主要是煤炭。據估測,到2060年,化石燃料佔比將不足20%。中國金融機構持有了一些高碳資產,綠色轉型帶來的資產價值變化風險等問題值得我們關注。

女士們、先生們、朋友們!

著眼未來,我認為有幾方面的重點工作需要推進。

第一個方面,是要進一步以市場化方式動員公共和私人部門資金,支持綠色經濟活動。預計2030年前,中國碳減排需每年投入2.2萬億元;2030-2060年,需每年投入3.9萬億元,要實現這些投入,單靠政府資金是遠遠不夠的,需引導和激勵更多社會資本參與。為此,需要做好兩項基礎性工作。

一方面是加強信息披露。人民銀行計劃分步推動建立強制披露制度,統一披露標準,推動金融機構和企業實現信息共享;同時將在G20框架下,推動加強信息披露方面的國際協調。另一方面是完善並統籌綠色金融分類標準。人民銀行即將完成對綠色債券標準的修訂,刪除化石能源相關內容。我們正在與其他國家共同推動綠色分類標準的國際趨同。

在提供政策激勵方面,央行可以發揮作用。人民銀行計劃推出碳減排支持工具,為碳減排提供一部分低成本資金。人民銀行還將通過商業信用評級、存款保險費率、公開市場操作抵押品框架等渠道加大對綠色金融的支持力度。

第二個方面,是要研究應對氣候變化對金融穩定的影響。從碳達峰到碳中和,歐盟將用時70年,美國45年,中國祇有30年左右,時間短,曲線陡,金融機構面臨的風險突出,所以要積極督促金融機構儘早開始轉型。

人民銀行正在探索在對金融機構的壓力測試中,系統性地考慮氣候變化因素,並逐步將氣候變化相關風險納入宏觀審慎政策框架。人民銀行已按季評估金融機構的綠色信貸、綠色債券的情況,同時鼓勵金融機構評估和管理其環境和氣候風險。

第三個方面,是要發揮好碳市場的價格發現作用。預計今年6月底,中國全國性碳排放權交易市場將啟動運營。相關部門正在就管理條例徵求意見,提出要逐步擴大碳排放配額的有償分配比例,金融管理部門將配合相關部門參與碳市場的管理。構建碳市場應更多體現金融屬性,引入碳金融衍生品交易機制,推動碳價格充分反映風險,最大化發揮碳價格的激勵約束作用。

國際協調對做好上述工作都十分重要。在這一方面,基金組織發揮了獨特作用。近期,基金組織提出把氣候變化問題納入監督工作,以及把氣變風險納入金融部門評估的情境分析。基金組織也在NGFS下牽頭開展數據缺口相關工作。我們支持這些工作,期待基金組織的研究成果和政策建議。

我們也願意和基金組織在能力建設上加強合作。人民銀行已通過經驗分享等形式,支持發展中國家製定綠色分類標準。基金組織也非常重視能力建設工作。雙方可通過“中國—基金組織能力建設中心”(CICDC),提供氣候風險管理等能力建設項目。

總的來說,央行可為實現碳中和發揮積極作用,這包括構建強有力的政策體系,發展豐富多元的市場體系,以及加強國際協調。這方面要做的工作還有很多。這次研討是一個起點,我期待和大家共同推進,取得更多進展。謝謝大家!

來源:中國人民銀行

了解更多信息

聯系我們

Governor Yi Gang attended the PBC-IMF High-Level Seminar on Green Finance and Climate Policy and delivered Opening Remarks

event-image

On April 15th, the People’s Bank of China and the International Monetary Fund co-hosted a High-Level Seminar on Green Finance and Climate Policy. Governor Yi Gang attended the seminar and delivered opening remarks. The opening remarks are as follows:

Madame Managing Director, Ladies and Gentleman,

Good morning and good evening. It gives me great pleasure to co-host this high-level seminar on “Green Finance and Climate Policy” with the IMF. I wish to begin by extending a warm welcome to all the participants on behalf of the PBC.

The international community is forming a broad consensus on tackling climate change. China has announced the goal of peaking carbon emissions by 2030 and achieving carbon neutrality by 2060, also known as the 30/60 goal. This requires a comprehensive economic transition, and green finance can be an accelerator in this process.

The PBC attaches great importance to green finance. In 2016, we led the effort in drafting the Guidance on Building a Green Financial System and developed a specific timetable and a roadmap for this purpose. By making sure that all the policies are implemented, we have put in place an initial policy framework for green finance. As a result, China’s green finance market has since enjoyed fast development. By the end of 2020, green loans and green bonds in China totalled 1.8 trillion US dollars and 125 billion US dollars respectively, ranking as the world’s largest and second largest. More than 40 carbon neutral bonds have been issued, with a total volume of over 10 billion US dollars.

The 30/60 goal has set a higher bar for the financial sector. To meet this goal, we need to overcome a host of challenges.

First, on the society front, public awareness of emission reduction has to be raised.

Second, on the market front, the carbon market has to play a greater role in price discovery. Only when carbon emission is priced in, can we achieve effective resources allocation. China’s carbon market is still in its initial stage, and its financial nature needs to be further clarified.

Third, on the institutional front, climate information disclosure needs to be improved. The disclosure should be expanded to cover listed companies, financial institutions and other market players, and move from a voluntary to a compulsory basis.

Fourth, on the risk management front, there needs to be greater attention to the fossil fuel-related transition risks. Fossil fuels, mainly coal, account for 80% of China’s energy consumption. By 2060, this ratio is expected to fall below 20%. China’s financial institutions have invested heavily in carbon-intensive assets, and the risk of asset price adjustment caused by the green transition must be closely monitored.

Ladies and Gentlemen, friends,

Looking forward, I believe we have to make progress in the following areas.

First, we must mobilize public and private funds to support the green economy in line with market principles. It is estimated that by 2030, China will need to invest 2.2 trillion yuan per year to reduce carbon emissions, and this amount will further grow to 3.9 trillion yuan from 2030 to 2060. Government funding alone is far from enough. We need to encourage more private capital participation. To do this, we need to lay the groundwork on two fronts.

One is about information disclosure. The PBC plans to set up a mandatory disclosure system with uniform standards, and promote greater information sharing between financial institutions and companies. We will also strengthen international coordination under the G20 framework. The other is about green finance taxonomy. The PBC is about to finish revising the green bond catalogue by removing fossil fuel projects. We are also working with international counterparts to harmonize taxonomies.

Central banks have a role to play in providing policy incentives. The PBC plans to launch a support toolkit to provide low-cost funds for carbon emission reduction. The PBC will also support green finance through a host of measures ranging from commercial credit ratings, deposit insurance rates to collaterals for open market operations.

Second, we must evaluate the potential impact of climate change on financial stability. It will take 70 years for the EU, 45 years for the US, and about 30 years for China to move from carbon peak to net zero. The time is shorter and the curve is much steeper for China. It means our financial institutions are faced with grave risks and should begin their green transition right away.

The PBC is looking at the possibility of including climate factors in financial stress tests, and gradually incorporating climate risks into the macro-prudential policy framework. The PBC is reviewing green loan and green bond performance of financial institutions on a quarterly basis. The financial institutions are encouraged to evaluate and manage their environmental and climate risks.

Third, we must let the carbon market play its role of price discovery. China’s national emissions trading system will be up and running by the end of this June. Regulators are soliciting opinions on its operational rules. These rules suggest that there will be fewer emission quotas that are freely allocated to polluters previously, and financial regulators should be involved in the supervision of the carbon market. The carbon market should be a financial market in nature and allow carbon financial derivatives trading. This will make sure that all risks are fully priced in so that the carbon price plays a better role of serving either as an incentive or a constraint.

International coordination matters a lot if we are to succeed in the above undertakings. The Fund plays a unique role in this regard. The Fund plans to integrate climate change into its surveillance and include climate risk scenario analysis in its financial sector assessment. It is also leading the efforts on closing the data gaps under the Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS). We support all these efforts, and look forward to more research findings and policy advice from the Fund.

We stand ready to strengthen capacity building cooperation with the Fund. The PBC has provided experience sharing to developing countries in drafting green taxonomy. The Fund also places great value on capacity building. We could offer joint climate risk management training programs via the China-IMF Capacity Development Center.

In a nutshell, central banks could contribute to the net zero goal in many ways, such as developing a strong policy system, a diversified market system, and enhancing international coordination. Much still needs to be done and today’s seminar is just a beginning. I look forward to working with all of you to produce more deliverables. Thank you.

 

Source: People’s Bank of China

For More Information

Contact Us