聯交所刊發有關檢討《企業管治守則》及相關《上市規則》條文的諮詢文件

event-image

香港绿色金融协会全力支持香港交易及结算所有限公司(香港交易所)全资附属公司香港联合交易所有限公司(联交所)的咨询文件,文件中建议提升《企业管治守则》及《企业管治报告》(《守则》)以及相关的《上市规则》条文。本协会鼓励协会会员向联交所提交独立回应,同时欢迎将回应文件传至 info@hkgreenfinance.org/devsite 以结合协会整体意见。

 

联交所接收回应意见的截止日期为2021年6月18日(星期五)。

有意发表意见的人士可填交问卷,就谘询文件作出回应。

 

以下请参阅有关咨询文件的更多资讯。通讯来源: 香港交易及结算所有限公司

建议包括引入多项新措施以提升香港上市发行人的企业管治水平,当中涵盖企业文化、董事会独立性、多元化政策及环境、社会及管治(ESG)披露和水平等范畴。

香港交易所上市主管陈翊庭表示:「香港交易所一直致力提升旗下市场质素,是次谘询提出多项建议提升上市公司的企业管治水平。我们强调董事会应从思维上作出改变,并促进董事会的独立性、不时引入新成员及安排继任规划,推动董事会内的成员更为多元化,提升香港作为亚洲区内领先ESG中心的地位。」

主要建议包括:

(a) 企业文化 –
(i)强调企业文化与其目的、价值及策略必须一致及
(ii)要求发行人制定反贪污及举报政策(新增守则条文,为「不遵守就解释」条文)。
(b) 董事会独立性、引入新成员及继任规划  –
(i)要求发行人制定政策,确保董事会可取得独立意见,并每年检讨其有效性(新增守则条文)。
(ii)重选在任已超过九年的独立非执行董事(连任多年的独董)须经独立股东批准及须作出额外披露1(修订守则条文)。
(iii)若董事会内所有独立非执行董事均为连任多年的独董,则须于下次股东周年大会委任新的独立非执行董事,并披露连任多年的独董的姓名及已出任该职的时间(新增守则条文)。
(iv)强制设立提名委员会,由独立非执行董事担任主席,成员须以独立非执行董事占大多数(提升为《上市规则》条文)。
(c) 多元化 –
(i)只有单一性别的董事会不会被视为多元化的董事会;
(ii)强制发行人须制定可量化的目标及时间表,以在董事会层面及所有雇员层面均达到性别多元化(新增于《守则》下的强制披露规定);及
(iii)要求董事会每年检讨多元化政策的进展(新增守则条文)。在《上市规则》修订生效后,现时董事会只有单一性别的上市发行人将有三年的过渡期,以委任最少一名另一性别的成员加入其董事会;而联交所不预期未来的上市申请人的董事会只有单一性别。
(d) 与股东的沟通 –
强制披露股东通讯政策,并每年检讨其有效性(提升为强制披露要求)。
(e) 环境、社会及管治(ESG)  –

将刊发ESG报告的时限与年报一致(修订《上市规则》及ESG指引2)。

联交所最新的ESG汇报规定(2020年7月生效)已加入TCFD建议3中的若干要素。香港政府于2020年底宣布订于2050年前实现碳中和,而绿色和可持续金融跨机构督导小组4亦公布了相关措施,要求相关行业须在2025年或之前按TCFD建议就气候相关资料作出披露。联交所鼓励发行人在根据ESG指引披露气候相关资料时考虑采纳TCFD 建议,并会就此提供进一步指引。

ESG事宜的管治及监督以及重大ESG风险的管理是良好企业管治重要的一环。因此,联交所特别修订了《守则》的内容,阐述企业管治与ESG两者息息相关。为进一步协助发行人遵守《守则》并提升企业管治水平,《守则》内容亦会重新编备,改善行文以便发行人参阅。

注:

  1. 决定有关独立非执行董事仍保持独立及应予重选的理由时所考虑的因素、程序以及董事会或提名委员会的讨论。
  2. 《主板上市规则》附录二十七及《GEM上市规则》附录二十所载的《环境、社会及管治报告指引》。
  3. 气候相关财务披露工作小组(TCFD)的建议。详情请参阅TCFD网站
  4. 由香港金融管理局和证券及期货事务监察委员会发起的督导小组,成员包括环境局、财经事务及库务局、香港交易所、保险业监管局以及强制性公积金计划管理局。

 

了解更多信息

联系我们

HKEX Consultation Paper on Review of Corporate Governance Code and Related Listing Rules

event-image

HKGFA supports the consultation paper by The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the Exchange), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX) outlining proposed enhancements to the Corporate Governance Code and Corporate Governance Report (the Code), as well as related amendments to the Listing Rules. We encourage HKGFA members to submit your individual views to the Exchange and share your opinion with HKGFA for consolidations through info@hkgreenfinance.org/devsite.

The deadline for responding to the Consultation Paper to the Exchange is 18 June 2021 (Fri).

Interested parties are encouraged to respond to the Consultation Paper by completing and submitting the questionnaire.

 

Further details below regarding the consultation. Source: Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX)

The proposals include new measures aimed at further enhancing corporate governance standards among listed issuers in Hong Kong, specifically in the areas of corporate culture, director independence, diversity, and in Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) disclosures and standards.

“At HKEX, we are committed to enhancing the quality of our market, and this consultation focuses on improving a range of corporate governance standards. Our proposals emphasise instilling change in mindset of issuer’s boards, promoting board independence, board refreshment and succession planning, as well as improving board diversity amongst Hong Kong issuers, helping to enhance Hong Kong’s position as a leading ESG hub in Asia,” said Bonnie Y Chan, HKEX’s Head of Listing.

Key proposals include:

(a) Corporate culture –
(i)Align company’s culture with its purpose, values and strategy; and
(ii)require issuers to have anti-corruption and whistleblowing policies (New Code Provisions (CP), subject to a “comply or explain” basis).
(b) Board independence, refreshment and succession planning –
(i)Require issuers to have a policy to ensure independent views are available to the board, and annual review of its effectiveness (New CP).
(ii)Require independent shareholders’ approval for re-election of an independent non-executive director (INED) serving more than nine years (Long Serving INED) and additional disclosure1 (Revised CP).
(iii)If all INEDs on the board are Long Serving INEDs, require appointment of a new INED at the forthcoming AGM, and disclose the length of tenure of the Long Serving INEDs on a named basis (New CP).
(iv)Mandatory Nomination committee, chaired by an INED and comprising a majority of INEDs (Upgraded to a Listing Rule).
(c) Diversity –
(i)Single gender board is not considered to be a diverse board;
(ii)mandatory numerical targets and timelines for achieving gender diversity at both board level and across the workforce (New Mandatory Disclosure Requirement (MDR) under the Code); and
(iii)requirements for boards to review progress of diversity policy annually (New CP). After the revised Rules take effect, existing issuers with single gender boards will be allowed a three-year transition period to appoint at least one director of the absent gender on their boards. IPO applicants are not expected to have single gender boards.
(d) Communication with shareholders –
Mandatory disclosure on shareholders communication policy, and annual review of its effectiveness (Upgraded to MDR).
(e) ESG –
Align publication timeframe of ESG reports with annual reports (Revised Rule and ESG Guide2).

 

The Exchange’s new ESG reporting requirements (effective from July 2020) have incorporated certain important elements of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) Recommendations3. In late 2020, the Hong Kong Government announced its aim to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050, and the Green and Sustainable Finance Cross-Agency Steering Group4 announced the initiative towards mandatory TCFD-aligned climate-related disclosures by 2025. The Exchange encourages issuers to adopt the TCFD Recommendations when disclosing climate change-related information under the ESG Guide, and will provide further guidance in this regard.

Governance and oversight of ESG matters and management of material ESG risks is an integral part of good corporate governance. Therefore, the Exchange is revising the Code to elaborate the linkage between corporate governance and ESG. To further facilitate issuers’ compliance with the Code and achieving high standards in corporate governance, the Code will also be re-arranged to improve the flow and readability.

Notes:

  1. Disclosure on factors considered, the process and board or nomination committee’s discussion in arriving at the determination in the explanation on why such INED is still independent and should be re-elected.
  2. ESG Reporting Guide as set out in Appendix 27 to the Main Board Listing Rules and Appendix 20 to the GEM Listing Rules.
  3. For details, please refer to the TCFD website.
  4. A steering group initiated by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority and the Securities and Futures Commission with members including the Environment Bureau, the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau, HKEX, the Insurance Authority and the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.

For More Information

Contact Us