2019香港绿色金融协会论坛「拓展大湾区绿色金融新机遇」

event-image

香港绿色金融协会论坛:大湾区将成为全球最具活力的绿色金融市场

香港绿色金融协会将与粤港澳大湾区内其他城市携手筹组绿色金融联盟

香港,2019年923 – 香港绿色金融协会(HKGFA)论坛与会重要嘉宾表示,香港与深圳、广州及澳门携手,可望于未来数年推动粤港澳大湾区成为全球最具活力的绿色金融市场。本年论坛乃HKGFA自去年成立以来第二次举行,逾300名嘉宾代表出席,包括该会来自政策﹑商业﹑非牟利组织﹑学术及传媒界别的会员。

本次论坛主题为「拓展大湾区绿色金融新机遇」,积极参与区内绿色金融发展的专业人士在会上就相关资产类别的机遇及挑战发表看法和见解,其中,香港特别行政区政府财政司司长陈茂波先生作开幕致辞。

陈茂波先生在致辞中表示:「在香港绿色金融协会成立一周年之际,我们对其在过去一年为推动香港成为国际绿色金融中心而作出的巨大努力表示讚赏。过去一年,我们在可持续金融方面已取得重大进展,本人谨此向协会和本港绿色金融界的积极参与表示衷心的感谢。」

他同时表示:「今年初颁布的《粤港澳大湾区发展规划纲要》进一步落实香港成为大湾区金融服务业发展的引擎,当中必然涵盖绿色金融。在协会的支持下,我们将继续为香港金融机构创造机遇,以进一步参与及拓展大湾区以至整个中国内地及其他市场的绿色金融行业。」

香港绿色金融协会主席兼会长马骏博士表示:「作为迅速发展的绿色金融市场,本地债券和项目融资市场的发展潜力巨,香港将发挥关键作用,致力发展大湾区成为亚洲绿色金融的枢纽。政府对大湾区的发展蓝图为该地区的绿色金融业提供一个千载难逢的机会,刺激香港银行、投资管理﹑保险和私募股权行业进一步的增长。此次论坛就绿色转型为业界及政策制定者提供一系列应予以优先考虑的观点。」

HKGFA同时在会上宣布计划成立「绿色金融联盟」,旨在促进大湾区的绿色发展。透过与广州绿色金融专业委员会、深圳经济特区金融学会绿色金融专业委员会及澳门银行公会合作,该平台将牵头进行研究项目,利用广东庞大的绿色投资需求以及香港和澳门的绿色金融实力,孵化能惠及大湾区的绿色投资项目。目标项目将涵盖以下四大领域:广州供应链绿色发展、深圳大型固废处理设施、水污染风险分析标准化及绿色建筑倡议。

随着全球向绿色经济转型的融资需求不断增长,绿色债券已成为全球债市的重要增长来源,其总发行量持续上升。为促进绿色金融和绿色债券发展,HKGFA当天在论坛上发布了有关绿色债券及如何制定影响评估的相关指引。由香港交易所支持撰写的《绿色债券手册》阐述绿色债券的核心标准、促进香港绿色债券市场发展的策略以及绿色债券在香港的上市规则。HKGFA亦发布了由香港品质保证局撰写的《环境影响评估指引》,旨在为债券发行人或参与者就如何就绿色债券评估影响提供指引。

本次论坛亦公布了HKGFA和中国节能皓信环境顾问有限公司关于「ESG新时代:中国市场的企业见解与事实」的调研结果。调研中访问了50家公司对ESG事宜的看法和理解,调研结果显示,有70%的受访者认为,重视ESG的公司在同业中拥有更大的市场优势及竞争力;此外,超过90%的受访者表示已将ESG纳入企业管治范围、或考虑于未来三年内将其纳入企业管治措施当中。

在成立短短一年以来,HKGFA在推动香港绿色金融市场发展取得重大进展。目前,协会成员机构已由90间增至113间,当中包括香港主要银行、资产管理公司、保险公司、环保公司及第三方服务供应商。此外,协会于年内举办多个论坛及会议,推动香港及其他地区的绿色金融及可持续投资发展,成功动员公营及私营机构进行政策研究,其中包括由气候债券倡议组织及香港金融管理局联合发布的「香港绿色债券市场」简报。同时,协会亦负责监督绿色金融准则的起草工作,以及促进产品创新及配对,包括于第十二届亚洲金融论坛为60个来自中国内地的绿色项目进行配对,以及于库布其国际沙漠论坛上为投资者配对了150个绿色项目,并为来自不同界别的专业人士提供培训,以及加强国际合作。

过去一年,香港政府及各监管机构采取了多项重大措施,令香港发展成为全球最具活力、最高透明度的绿色金融市场之一。今年五月,香港政府根据其推出的1,000亿港元「绿色债券发行计划」,发行了首批10亿美元的绿色债券,筹集的资金用于资助能产生环保效益及支持香港可持续发展的公共工程项目或作为再融资用途。政府亦透过「绿色债券资助计划」及「债券资助先导计划」提供补贴鼓励债券发行。为协助缓解气候变化风险及达致可持续金融的目标,香港金融管理局推出了三项举措,包括绿色及可持续银行、责任投资以及成立绿色金融中心,为香港银行及金融业的绿色发展提供技术支援及经验分享平台。香港交易所已向基金经理及上市公司发出了有关审查ESG报告指南及相关上市规则的谘询文件,并将于2020年修订ESG 报告要求。

展望未来,马骏博士表示:「香港绿色金融协会将继续与政府及监管机构合作推动香港绿色债券市场,尤其是中国及一带一路地区的绿色项目。香港应致力厘清其绿色金融策略框架、采用绿色标准、进行风险分析以及培育绿色资产管理公司。有见及此,协会亦将与金管局共同制定绿色银行业务原则,并与证监会及香港交易所合作推广ESG披露。我们亦将协助绿色投资原则推出一带一路绿色项目数据库,同时也会继续举办新活动,为协会成员创造合作机会。透过我们的共同努力,我深信我们可以令香港成为区内和全球最具吸引力的绿色金融中心之一。」

了解更多信息

联系我们

HKGFA 2019 Annual Forum “Fast Tracking Green Finance for the Greater Bay Area”

event-image

Greater Bay Area to Become the World’s Most Dynamic Green Finance Market, according to Hong Kong Green Finance Association’s Annual Forum

HKGFA to Work with Greater Bay Area Cities to Establish Green Finance Alliance

Hong Kong, 23 September 2019 – Hong Kong, in joint effort with Shenzhen, Guangzhou and Macau, have the potential to create the world’s most dynamic green finance market in the Greater Bay Area in the coming years], according to distinguished participants at the Hong Kong Green Finance Association (HKGFA)’s Annual Forum. Over 300 delegates, including HKGFA members from the worlds of policy, business, non-profit organisations, academia and the media, attended the event, the second such event since the Association launched last year.

Entitled “Fast Tracking Green Finance for the Greater Bay Area”, the event heard the views and insights of professionals actively involved in the development of green finance about the opportunities and challenges for the asset class in the region. These included Hong Kong’s Financial Secretary Paul Chan Mo-po, who opened the Forum.

In his remarks, Mr Chan said, “On its first anniversary, we applaud the Hong Kong Green Finance Association’s considerable efforts this past year in promoting Hong Kong as an international hub for green finance. Thanks to the Association and the active participation of Hong Kong’s green finance community, we have made significant strides in sustainable finance over the past year.”

He added, “The Outline Development Plan for the Greater Bay Area promulgated earlier this year further supports Hong Kong’s development as the Greater Bay Area’s driver in the financial services sector, and green finance is definitely included. We will count on the Association to continue to create opportunities for Hong Kong’s financial institutions to expand participation in green finance locally, in the Greater Bay Area, throughout mainland China and other markets.”

Dr Ma Jun, Chairman and President of the HKGFA, remarked, “As a rapidly growing green finance market, Hong Kong will play a key role in the development of the Greater Bay Area as a leading centre for green finance in Asia, with great potential to grow the city’s bond and project finance markets. The government’s blueprint for the Greater Bay Area provides a golden opportunity for the green finance sector in the region, stimulating further knock-on growth for Hong Kong’s banking, investment management, insurance and private equity industries. The Forum heard an interesting range of views on what the priorities should be for the sector and policymakers in this exciting green transformation.”

HKGFA also announced the plan to establish the Green Finance Alliance at the event to facilitate the greening of the Greater Bay Area. In collaboration with Guangzhou Green Finance Committee, Shenzhen Green Finance Committee and Macau Association of Banks, this platform will host research projects and incubate some green investment projects in four key areas, namely greening the supply chain in Guangzhou, major waste treatment facilities in Shenzhen, standardised water risk analysis and green building initiatives, that will benefit the Greater Bay Area, leveraging the vast green investment demand in Guangdong and green finance capacities in Hong Kong and Macau.

As the growing demand for financing a global transition into green economies gathers pace, green bonds have become a source of significant growth within the global bond market and their gross issuance continues to rise. In support of the promotion of green finance and green bonds, the HKGFA published the guidelines at the event today on green bonds and how to prepare impact assessments for them. The Green Bonds Guide, supported by and Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX), sets out the core principles for green bonds, how to facilitate the Hong Kong green bond market and guidance on listing green bonds in the city. HKGFA also issued the Environmental Impact Assessment Guidance, which was written by the Hong Kong Quality Assurance Agency (HKQAA), to provide guidance to bond issuers or parties involved in bond issuances on how to conduct impact assessments for green bonds.

The event also unveiled the findings of the HKGFA and CECEP Environmental Consulting Group Limited (CECEPEC) public research report “ESG New Era: Corporate Insights and Facts in China Market”, which surveyed and interviewed 50 companies on their views on and understanding of ESG issues. It revealed that 70% of respondents believe that companies that attach importance to ESG have greater comparative advantages and are more competitive in the marketplace as compared with their peers. In addition, more than 90% of respondents expressed that they had already incorporated ESG into their corporate governance or considered to incorporate ESG into their corporate governance practices over the next three years.

In its first year, the HKGFA is proud to have hit the ground running with significant progress already made towards developing Hong Kong’s green finance market. The membership has grown from 90 to 113 institutions, which now include all major banks in Hong Kong, as well as many asset managers, insurance companies, green companies and third-party service providers.

Furthermore, the Association is pleased to have promoted the development of green finance and sustainable investments in Hong Kong and beyond through a wide range of forums and meetings throughout the year. These events have mobilised both the public and private sectors to develop policy research, including a joint briefing paper by the Climate Bonds Initiative and the Hong Kong Monetary Authority on Hong Kong’s green bond market. It has also overseen the drafting of green finance principles, facilitated product innovation and matchmaking, including matchmaking 60 green project owners from mainland China at 12th Asian Financial Forum and 150 green projects to investors at the Kubuqi International Desert Forum, educated professionals from across different sectors, and enhanced international cooperation.

The Hong Kong government and its regulators have taken many great strides in the past year in developing Hong Kong into one of the most dynamic and transparent green finance markets in the world. Hong Kong government issued the first US$1 billion inaugural green bond in May this year under the HK$100 billion Government Green Bond Programme, the proceeds for which will be used to finance or refinance public works projects that provide environmental benefits and support the sustainable development of Hong Kong. The government also provides subsidies to incentivise issues via the Green Bond Grant Scheme and Pilot Grant Scheme. In support of the mission to reduce climate change risks and achieve sustainable finance, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) launched three sets of measures in areas including green and sustainable banking; responsible investment; and establishing the Centre for Green Finance (CGF) as a platform for technical support and experience sharing for the green development of the banking and finance industry in Hong Kong. HKEX has issued consultation paper on review of the ESG reporting guide and related listing rules to fund managers and listed companies, and HKEX will revise its ESG reporting requirement in 2020.

Looking ahead, Dr. Ma said, “HKGFA will continue to work with the government and regulators to promote Hong Kong’s green bond market, especially for green projects in China and the Belt & Road region. Hong Kong should look to clarify its green framework, adopt green principles, implement risk analysis and incubate green asset managers. As such, the Association will work with HKMA in developing the green banking principles, and work with SFC and HKEX to promote ESG disclosure. We will also leverage the Green Investment Principles to launch a green project database for the Belt and Road initiative. We will continue to organise new events that will create opportunities for members of our Association to collaborate with each other. With our collective efforts, I am confident that we can make Hong Kong one of the most attractive green finance centres regionally and globally.”

For More Information

Contact Us