香港绿色金融协会发布研究报告《香港领航,推动建立绿色和可持续基础设施投资基金中心》

news-image

香港, 2022 年 2 月 22 日—— 香港绿色金融协会于2022 年 2 月 4 日发布研究报告《香港领航,推动建立绿色和可持续基础设施投资基金中心》,概述了对香港政府在加强其法律、税收和监管环境方面的建议,以促进或吸引在香港设立绿色和可持续投资基金。

鉴于现时迫切需要过渡至低碳和净零排放经济,本报告旨在探索香港作为区域金融中心的潜力,以吸引资金为绿色和可持续基础设施项目融资。报告侧重于对绿色和可持续基础设施项目提供指引,从潜在的税收优惠至投资基金结构,再到净零排放经济。报告也比较了三个位于亚太区的司法管辖区(澳洲、新加坡和香港)的绿色和可持续基础设施融资的资本市场发展。

香港绿色金融协会副会长兼政策研究与宣传工作组联合主席兼团结香港基金高级副总裁兼公共政策研究院院长黄元山博士表示:「基础设施对全球经济发挥着至关重要的作用。能源、交通和通讯等碳排放密集行业如果得到合适的基础设施和投资配套支持,便可以成为向低碳经济转型的关键动力。作为具有完善金融平台的国际金融中心,香港可以帮助引领资本市场把资金投资在可持续的基础设施项目,以推动可持续发展,实现『绿色』经济。」

香港绿色金融协会政策研究和传播工作组项目负责人兼普华永道香港高级顾问叶招桂芳补充:「为了发展成为绿色和可持续基础设施融资的领先投资基金中心,香港必须树立作为绿色和可持续发展的榜样,并努力协调此类基础设施的标准,改善法律和监管环境,以及税收制度和激励措施。政府、私营部门和公众需要共同努力,以达到理想的规模和范围。」

为进一步巩固香港作为区域资产和财富管理中心的地位,并发展成为涵盖私人和公共基金的绿色和可持续基础设施融资的领先投资基金中心,本报告向香港政府提出四项主要建议:

  1. 优先检讨和修订香港的相关税收政策和激励措施,以适应「新基础设施」、「绿色基础设施」、「可持续基础设施」等不同范畴的基础设施,鼓励基金投资此类项目;
  2. 建议强制性公积金计划管理局通过强制性强积金基金管理人将其投资组合的一定比例分配给环保、社会和企业管治(ESG)或气候相关的产品,并将基础设施视为强积金平台上的合资格资产类别,以促进具有绿色和可持续影响的投资;
  3. 建议财经事务及库务局在 2022-23 年度香港财政预算案中提议在香港设立有限合伙基金(LPF)或将离岸有限合伙基金迁往香港有限合伙基金并纳入资助计划;
  4. 建议进一步引入促进绿色和可持续的跨境基础设施投资的政策;例如,随着香港和中国内地房地产投资信托基金(REITs)市场变得更加稳健,在香港上市的绿色和可持续基础设施房地产投资信托基金等投资产品可开放给内地投资者投资,反之亦然。

除了四项主要建议外,报告还概述了对香港政府的其他建议,以鼓励其将可持续发展的最佳策略实践于绿色和可持续基础设施项目,例如为北方都会区和明日大屿愿景发展计划的基础设施提供指引,以确保项目从一开始便符合绿色或可持续的标准;亦鼓励政府与大湾区及其他地区的城市合作,进行战略基础设施规划、制定标准和收集碳排放数据。

此外,提升香港法律和监管环境有利于投资者和资产拥有者对绿色和可持续基础设施项目的投资。报告建议,香港的外汇基金和未来基金可以带头投资香港绿色和可持续基础设施项目,更可设立新的投资组合,专门用于投资大湾区的早期基础设施项目。

气候适应性和可持续发展两者密不可分。随着全球对气候风险的意识以及对绿色和可持续未来的关注大幅提升,香港正可利用其在金融服务方面的优势来实现绿色和可持续影响。

– 完 –

 

关于香港绿色金融协会

香港绿色金融协会于 2018 年 9 月成立,并为支持香港及其他地区的绿色金融和可持续投资发展,提供了一个独特的对接平台。协会旨在调动公私营的资源和人才以制定绿色金融政策,促进金融机构内的绿色金融业务和产品创新。香港绿色金融协会的主要目标是将香港定位为领先的国际绿色金融中心,透过为香港金融机构提供更多渠道和机会,参与本地、内地和「一带一路」沿线市场的绿色融资交易,以回应联合国可持续发展目标和《巴黎协定》的全球趋势。

香港绿色金融协会的主要活动由八个工作组负责,分别是绿色及可持续银行、绿色及可持续私募基金、绿色及可持续房地产、绿色债券及产品创新、ESG 披露及整合、政策研究与宣传、绿色及可持续保险,以及对外合作。

联系我们

地址
香港湾仔港湾道26号华润大厦廈2302-3
电⼦邮件
info@hkgreenfinance.org
电话
(+852) 3469 0859

HKGFA published research report: Developing Hong Kong as a Leading Investment Fund Hub for Green and Sustainable Infrastructure Financing

news-image

Hong Kong, 22 February 2022 – Hong Kong Green Finance Association (“HKGFA”) published a research report on 4 February 2022, entitled Developing Hong Kong as a Leading Investment Fund Hub for Green and Sustainable Infrastructure Financing, which outlines recommendations for the Hong Kong Government on enhancing its legal, tax and regulatory environment to facilitate or attract the setting up of green and sustainable investment funds in Hong Kong. 

The report aims at exploring Hong Kong’s potential as a regional financial hub for attracting capital to finance infrastructure projects that are green and sustainable, in light of the urgent need to transition to a low carbon or net zero economy. It focuses on aspects ranging from potential tax incentives to investment fund structures to providing guidance on the identification of green and sustainable infrastructure (“G&S Infra”) projects. It also compares the development of capital market for green and sustainable infrastructure financing in three APAC jurisdictions, namely Australia, Singapore, and Hong Kong. 

Dr. Stephen Wong, HKGFA Vice President and Policy Research and Dissemination Working Group Co-chair; Our Hong Kong Foundation Senior Vice President & Executive Director of Public Policy Institute said, “Infrastructure plays a crucial role in the operation of global economy. Emission-intensive industries such as energy, transportation and communication—if supported by the right infrastructure and investment—can serve as key enablers for the transition to a low-carbon economy. As an international financial centre with a well-established financial platform, Hong Kong can help to channel funding from capital market towards investments in sustainable infrastructure in order to promote sustainability and achieve a ‘greener’ economy.” 

Florence Yip, Project Lead of HKGFA Policy Research and Dissemination Working Group; Senior Advisor of PwC Hong Kong added, “In order to develop Hong Kong as a leading investment fund hub for green and sustainable infrastructure financing, Hong Kong must establish itself as a role model for green and sustainability. This requires relentless efforts to harmonise the standards for such infrastructure in Hong Kong, and to improve its legal and regulatory environment, as well as its tax regime and incentives. Coordinated efforts of governments, private sectors and the public are much needed to achieve the desirable scale and scope.” 

To further strengthen Hong Kong’s position as a regional asset and wealth management centre and develop the city as a leading investment fund hub for green and sustainable infrastructure financing covering both private and public funds, the report proposes four key recommendations to the Hong Kong Government: 

  1. Prioritise reviewing and revising the relevant tax policies and incentives in Hong Kong to cater for varied scopes of infrastructures such as “new infrastructure”, “green infrastructure”, “sustainable infrastructure” and encourage funds’ investments in such projects;
  2. Recommend the Mandatory Provident Fund Authority (MPFA) to promote investments with green and sustainable impacts by mandating MPF fund managers to allocate a certain percentage of their portfolios to ESG or climate-related products, and considering infrastructure as an eligible asset class on the MPF platform; 
  3. Recommend the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (FSTB) to propose in the 2022-23 Hong Kong Budget to include the set-up of limited partnership funds (LPFs) in Hong Kong or the re-domiciliation of offshore limited partnership funds to LPFs in Hong Kong in the subsidy scheme; 
  4. Recommend introducing policies that further facilitate cross-border G & S Infra investments; for example, with the REITs market becoming more robust in both Hong Kong and Mainland China, investment products such as green and sustainable infrastructure REITs listed in Hong Kong may be made accessible to Mainland investors and vice versa. 

In addition to the four key recommendations, the report also outlines further recommendations for the Hong Kong Government on encouraging best practices in sustainability to be applied to G & S Infra projects. For instance, provide guidance to the construction of infrastructures in the proposed Northern Metropolis and the Lantau Tomorrow Vision development plans to ensure they satisfy the recommended green or sustainable standards from the outset; collaborate with cities in the GBA and beyond for strategic infrastructure planning, standard-setting and carbon emissions data collection. 

Moreover, the enhancement of Hong Kong’s legal and regulatory environment can also facilitate investors and asset owners’ investment in G & S Infra projects. The report suggests that Hong Kong’s Exchange Fund and Future Fund can take the lead and invest in Hong Kong G & S Infra initiatives, or even set up dedicated portfolios to invest in early-stage infrastructure projects in the GBA. 

Climate resilience and sustainable development are inextricably intertwined. With the global awareness of climate risks and the call for a green and sustainable future rising to an unprecedented level, it is also time for Hong Kong to leverage its strength in financial services to deliver green and sustainable impacts. 

– Ends – 

 

About Hong Kong Green Finance Association

Founded in September 2018, Hong Kong Green Finance Association (HKGFA) provides a unique platform that supports the development of green finance and sustainable investments in Hong Kong and beyond. It aims to mobilise both public and private sectors resources and talents in developing green finance policies, to promote green finance business and product innovation within financial institutions. HKGFA’s main goal is to position Hong Kong as a leading international green finance hub by providing greater access and opportunities for Hong Kong’s financial institution to participate in green financing transactions locally, in Mainland China and in markets along the Belt & Road. This is in line with the global trend of implementing the UN sustainable development goals and the Paris Agreement. 

HKGFA’s key activities are organised through eight working groups, namely Green and Sustainable Banking, Green and Sustainable Private Equity, Green and Sustainable Real Estate, Green Bonds and Product Innovation, ESG Disclosure and Integration, Policy Research and Dissemination, Green and Sustainable Insurance, and External Collaborations. Please visit https://www.hkgreenfinance.org/ for more information.

Contact Us

HKGFA Address
Suite 2405,
9 Queen's Road Central,
Hong Kong
HKGFA Email
info@hkgreenfinance.org
HKGFA Phone
(+852) 3579 4391