香港特區政府發售數碼綠色債券

news-image

中華人民共和國香港特別行政區政府(香港特區政府)今日(2月7日)宣布,在政府綠色債券計劃下成功發售以港元、人民幣、美元及歐元計價,總值約60億港元的數碼綠色債券。

是次兩年期數碼綠色債券吸引到廣泛類別的環球機構投資者認購,涵蓋金融機構(包括一些主要資產管理公司、銀行、保險公司及私人銀行)及非金融機構企業,其定價如下:

  • 20億港元的債券為 3.800%
  • 15億人民幣的債券為 2.900%
  • 2億美元的債券為 4.749%
  • 8千萬歐元的債券為 3.647%

是次是香港特區政府繼2023年2月發行首批代幣化綠色債券後再次發行數碼債券。香港金融管理局(金管局)與國際結算銀行創新樞紐轄下香港中心在2021年完成Project Genesis,試驗在香港發行代幣化綠色債券,本次發行在該項目的基礎上進一步發展,並在以下範疇取得新突破:

  1. 透過現有市場基建擴大投資者的參與:透過債務工具中央結算系統 (CMU)的外部連結,國際投資者可選擇利用其歐洲清算(Euroclear)或明訊(Clearstream)戶口參與該批數碼綠色債券的買賣。此舉擴大了債券的投資者基礎及提高其流通性,並具備促進不同數碼資產平台與傳統中央證券託管平台之間相互操作的潛力。
  2. 以數碼原生形式發行,以精簡發行程序:無需先在傳統的中央證券託管平台發行,然後再將債券轉換至數碼形式。
  3. 引入標準化元素:是次發行採用國際資本市場協會的債券數據分類術語BDT (Bond Data Taxonomy)1,BDT是一套為促進市場效率以及跨平台互操作性而設的標準化機器可讀語言。這是相關類別發行人首次發行採用BDT的債券,亦是首批採用BDT的綠色債券。
  4. 將綠色債券披露融入數碼資產平台:主要綠色債券文件,包括發行人的《綠色債券框架》及相關第三方評估報告均可在相關數碼資產平台上閱覽,從而提高資訊透明度及流通度。

財政司司長陳茂波表示:「特區政府今年再度發行數碼綠色債券,並融合了多項技術創新,顯示香港在結合債券市場、綠色和可持續金融,以及金融科技方面的優勢和領導地位。我們會繼續推動金融科技的創新和應用,探索以更多新技術提升金融交易的效率、透明度和安全性,促進金融市場的各個領域更蓬勃發展。」

財經事務及庫務局局長許正宇表示:「再次發行數碼化綠色債券顯示政府持續支持創新形式的債券發行及綠色轉型。我們深信,這次發行將進一步加深社會對可持續發展結合金融科技的認識,鞏固香港作為領先綠色及可持續金融中心的地位。」

金管局總裁余偉文表示:「繼去年成功發行首批數碼債券,我們很高興再次為市場帶來另一標誌性的發行。這次發行的第二批數碼債券包含多項創新,能夠擴闊投資者參與度、推動互操作性,並且增加透明度與效率。我們希望是次發行可以促進數碼化證券市場的發展,並鼓勵數碼化技術的更廣泛應用。」

該批數碼綠色債券的結算及交收系統為CMU,以HSBC Orion為數碼資產平台。這是全球首批多幣種數碼債券,亦是首批在香港發行的數碼原生債券。 滙豐、中國銀行(香港)、東方匯理銀行、高盛、中國工商銀行(亞洲)、瑞銀、安理國際律師事務所、亞司特律師事務所、年利達律師事務所參與是次發行的準備工作(詳見附件)。

來源及更多資訊:香港金融管理局

聯繫我們

HKGFA 地址
香港中環皇后大道中9號2405室
HKGFA 電子郵件
info@hkgreenfinance.org
HKGFA 電話
(+852) 3579 4391

HKSAR Government’s Digital Green Bonds Offering

news-image

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China (the HKSAR Government) on 7 February announced the successful offering of around HK$6 billion worth of digital green bonds (Digital Green Bonds) denominated in HK dollars (HKD), Renminbi (RMB), US dollars (USD) and euro (EUR) under the Government Green Bond Programme.

The two-year Digital Green Bonds attracted subscription by a wide spectrum of institutional investors globally, from financial institutions (including some major asset managers, banks, insurance companies and private banks) to non-FI corporates. The Digital Green Bonds were priced as follows:

  • HKD2 billion tranche at 3.800%
  • RMB1.5 billion tranche at 2.900%
  • USD200 million tranche at 4.749%
  • EUR80 million tranche at 3.647%

This is the second digital bond issuance following the HKSAR Government’s inaugural tokenised green bond issued in February 2023. The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) completed Project Genesis in 2021 in collaboration with the Bank for International Settlements Innovation Hub Hong Kong Centre to concept-test the issuance of tokenised green bonds in Hong Kong. This issuance further develops on the basis of Project Genesis and achieved new breakthroughs in the following areas:

  1. Broadening investor participation via existing market infrastructure: Facilitated by the Central Moneymakets Unit (CMU)’s external linkages, international investors have the option to access the Digital Green Bonds via their accounts with Euroclear or Clearstream. This broadens the bond’s investor base and enhances its liquidity, and could potentially facilitate interoperability across different digital assets platforms and traditional central securities depositories.
  2. Streamlining issuance process by issuing in digitally native format, without the need to first issue in traditional central securities depositories and subsequently convert the bond into digital format.
  3. Building in standardisation elements, by adopting the International Capital Market Association’s Bond Data Taxonomy1 (BDT), a standardised and machine-readable language that was developed to promote market efficiency and cross-system interoperability. This was the first issuance by an issuer of relevant category and the first green bond to adopt the BDT.
  4. Integrating green bond disclosures with digital assets platform:  Key green bond documentation including the issuer’s Green Bond Framework and relevant third-party review reports can be viewed on the digital assets platform, enhancing transparency and accessibility of information.

Mr Paul Chan, the Financial Secretary, said, “The Government has once again issued digital green bonds this year, incorporating various technological innovations. This demonstrates Hong Kong’s strengths and leadership position in combining the bond market, green and sustainable finance, as well as fintech. We will continue to promote innovation and application of fintech, explore the use of new technologies to enhance the efficiency, transparency, and security of financial transactions, and foster vibrant development in various sectors of the financial market.”

Mr Christopher Hui, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, said, “The second issuance of digital green bonds demonstrates the Government’s continuous support to innovative forms of bond issuances and green transformation. We are confident that this issuance will further entrench the social awareness of sustainable development in combination with fintech and consolidate Hong Kong’s status as a leading green and sustainable finance hub.”

Mr Eddie Yue, the Chief Executive of the HKMA, said, “Building on the success of the inaugural digital bond offering last year, we are delighted to bring to the market another landmark issuance. This second digital issuance include multiple innovations that broaden investor access, support interoperability, and improve transparency and efficiency. We hope this issuance would promote the development of the digital securities market and encourage the wider adoption of digitalisation technology.”

The clearing and settlement system of the Digital Green Bonds is the CMU, with HSBC Orion as the digital assets platform. This represents the first multi-currency digital bond offering in the world, and the first digitally native bond issuance in Hong Kong. HSBC, Bank of China (Hong Kong), Crédit Agricole CIB, Goldman Sachs (Asia) L.L.C, ICBC (Asia), UBS, Allen & Overy, Ashurst and Linklaters were involved in the preparation for the issuance (see Annex).

Source and for more details: Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Contact Us

HKGFA Address
Suite 2405,
9 Queen's Road Central,
Hong Kong
HKGFA Email
info@hkgreenfinance.org
HKGFA Phone
(+852) 3579 4391