报告建议成立跨机构专责组织并改善建筑评级体系,助香港于2050年前达到碳中和

event-image
香港,2020年12月8日 – 据今天发布的两份报告建议成立一个跨机构专责组织和改善建筑评级系统,以推动建筑业的政策变化及在2050年前实现净零碳排放。
两份报告建议是由思汇政策研究所筹组的HK2050 is Now及香港绿色金融协会所发起的粤港澳大湾区绿色金融联盟(GBA-GFA)联合发布。
香港行政长官林郑月娥在最新的《施政报告》强调要争取于2050年前实现碳中和。根据HK2050 is Now在六月发布的报告,大幅提升香港的建筑能源效益是实现香港碳中和的关键。
根据今天发布的《香港低碳建筑: 政策建议及行动》的建议,香港需要一个由相关政策部门组成的跨机构专责组织,负责协调建筑业在2050年前实现碳中和所需的激励措施和法规。成员应包括但不限于环境局、发展局、运输及房屋局及财经事务及库务局。
香港绿色金融协会主席及会长马骏博士表示:「为了实现碳中和目标,香港必须制定具体、可行的计划,向零排放经济和社会转型。这些计划应涵盖能源、建筑和交通运输等主要范畴。」他更说:「 HK2050 is Now 与粤港澳大湾区绿色金融联盟(GBA-GFA)合作的绿色建筑项目旨在利用绿色金融工具,为区内建造业制定减碳路线图。在香港,建筑物占整个城市的电力消耗达90%以及温室气体排放的60%,因此,减少建筑业的能源消耗对实现碳中和目标至关重要。」
绿色建筑项目负责人、香港绿色金融协会副秘书长黄翠芝女士表示:「绿色建筑行业带来了区域内最大的低碳投资机会–至2030年,亚洲的低碳投资额将预期增至18万亿美元。」她补充道:「创新的可持续融资和有效的能源效益政策乃核心推动力,需要公私营界别携手领导和合作来实现。」
要制定全面的建筑低碳化路线图,除了采取其他关键步骤确立政策优先次序以及落实政策工具,建筑业还需要:
  • 完善监管工具;
  • 激励市场,重新调整现有的激励措施,将重点放在能源效益要求上,引入碳交易,并规定公司披露与气候相关的财务信息;
  • 透过加强上网电价计划以及开征碳税和碳关税推动行为变化。
  • 透过公营部门采购加强行业能力。
思汇主席欧阳杞浚表示:「现时所需是全面的绿色建筑政策环境,配以有效的评级体系。随着最近绿色金融的趋势,加上香港政府计划在未来5年发行总值660亿港元的绿色债券,绿色建筑的前景可观。」
今天发布的第二份报告《绿色建筑评级体系能源范畴对标研究》,进一步阐述现有绿色建筑评级体系是否足以推动深度减碳的见解。
该报告强调,与综合得分评级体系相比,EDGE和NABER等成效型评级体系的能源范畴在整体评级中的比率明显更高。报告总结了提高能源效益和采用可再生能源策略有助建筑达到净零排放。最后,大部份评级系统在认证前并没有验证新建建筑物的实际运行能耗。
马骏博士表示:「该份能源评级体系报告提出,各层面的节能要求是建筑业迈向净零排放的关键,激励措施必须与低碳化挂钩,评级体系应得到国际绿色金融组织的认可,以吸引更多投资。总而言之,我们仅在迈向碳中和的漫漫长路起步。香港绿色金融协会致力动员香港、大湾区和亚洲金融界更多资源,支持香港经济向绿色低碳转型。我们期待与各界携手建立一个绿色金融体系,并实现净零碳排放。」
根据这两份最新发布的报告结果,在2021年,HK2050 is Now 与粤港澳大湾区绿色金融联盟(GBA-GFA)合作的绿色建筑项目将展开试点研究,利用创新绿色金融加快建筑业的低碳化进程,执行路线图并与政策制定者建立密切联系,同时将绿色建筑项目推广到大湾区。

了解更多信息

联系我们

Reports Recommend Cross-Agency Body and Improved Rating Systems for the Building Sector to Achieve Net Zero Emissions By 2050

event-image

Hong Kong, 8 December 2020  Establishing a dedicated Cross-Agency Body and improving building rating systems is key to driving effective policy change in the building sector towards net zero carbon emissions by 2050, according to two reports released today.  

The recommendations are included in two reports released under a collaboration between HK2050 is Now, led by Civic Exchange, and the Greater Bay Area Green Finance Alliance (GBA-GFA) led by Hong Kong Green Finance Association (HKGFA). 

Chief Executive Carrie Lam’s recent policy address has set an ambitious target for Hong Kong to achieve carbon neutrality before 2050.  Dramatically improving Hong Kong’s building energy efficiency is key to achieving carbon neutrality for the city, according to a HK2050 is Now report released in June. 

According to the Decarbonising Hong Kong Buildings: Policy Recommendations and Next Steps” report, a dedicated cross-agency body should be formed with members from relevant bureaus and be responsible for coordinating all incentives and regulations necessary for the buildings sector to achieve net zero by 2050. Members should include, but not limited to, the Environment Bureau, the Development Bureau, the Transport and Housing Bureau, and the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau.   

“To achieve the carbon neutrality goal, Hong Kong must develop a concrete and operational plan to transform the city into a zero-emission economy and society. These plans should cover key sectors such as energy, building, and transportation,” said Dr. Ma Jun, Chairman and President of Hong Kong Green Finance Association, The Green Building Project aims to develop a roadmap for decarbonising the building sector in the region using green finance instruments. In Hong Kong, buildings account for 90% of electricity consumption and 60% of greenhouse gas emission, reducing energy consumption of the building sector is therefore crucial for achieving our carbon neutrality goal. 

The green buildings industry presents the biggest low-carbon investment opportunity in the region – an additional US$18 trillion in Asia by 2030,” said Ms. Tracy Wong Harris, Project Lead of the Green Building Project and Deputy Secretary General, Hong Kong Green Finance Association “Innovative sustainable finance and effective energy efficiency policies are the core enablers which require leadership and collaborations across both public and private sectors.” 

To develop a comprehensive building decarbonisation roadmap, other key steps are also necessary to establish a policy priority and policy instruments  The building sector also needs to: 

  • Improvregulatory tools; 
  • Incentivize the markets by realigning existing incentives to focus on energy efficiency requirements, introduce carbon trading and mandate corporate climate-related financial disclosure; 
  • Influence behavioural change by reinforcing the Feed-in Tariff Scheme and implementing carbon tax and tariffs; 
  • Build capacity through public sector procurement. 

We need a comprehensive policy environment accompanied by effective benchmarking,” said Mr. Evan Auyang, Chairman of Civic Exchange, the independent think tank that commissioned the report.  “with the recent green finance trend and the HKSAR’s plan to issue green bonds with a total value of HK$66 billion in the next five years, the future of green building is promising.” 

The second report released today “Green Building Rating Systems Energy Benchmarking Study” extends insights into whether existing Green Building Rating Systems are sufficient in pushing deep decarbonization.  

This highlights that the energy aspects of performance-based rating systems, such as EDGE and NABER, contribute a significantly higher percentage to the overall certification, compared to scoring-based rating systems. It also summarizes that improving energy efficiency and incorporating renewable energy strategies can help buildings reach net zero. Lastly, most of the rating systems do not validate the actual operational energy performance of new buildings before certification. 

The energy benchmarking report suggests that energy saving requirements at all levels are crucial for the building sector to move towards net zero. Incentives must be tied to decarbonization and rating systems should be recognized by the international green finance bodies in order to attract more investments,” said Dr. Ma Jun, “We are only at the beginning of a long journey towards carbon neutrality. HKGFA is committed to mobilizing more resources from the financial community in Hong Kong, the Greater Bay Area, and Asia to support green and low carbon transformation of our economy. We look forward to working with all of you to build a green financial system that will work for net zero.” 

Based on the findings of these two newly published reports, in 2021, the collaboration will conduct pilot projects to speed up decarbonization in the building industry using innovative green finance, implement a roadmap to engage policy makers and extend out the green building project to the Greater Bay Area. 

For More Information

Contact Us